On Sunday, July 19, at the closing ceremonies of the 2009 National Convention, Dr. Richard A. Crosby, Eta-Omicron (Cincinnati) ’75, was presented with the Ossian E. Mills Award. The award recognizes a Sinfonian who, through his leadership and dedication, has immeasurably furthered the cause of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia on a national scale and who embodies the ideals of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia.

Brother Crosby was completing his third term as national president — he served in this position for the 1994-97, 2003-06, and 2006-09 triennia — and under his leadership, the Fraternity has regained focus on its core mission, experienced significant growth in membership and programs, and achieved an inspiring harmony of fraternalism.

The award has been presented previously to only four brothers:

  • Edward A. KlintAlpha Xi (Illinois) ’78, former executive director
  • James H. PatrenosEpsilon Theta (Roosevelt) ’50, former province governor (Alabama) and NEC member
  • Henry CharlesAlpha Lambda (Illinois Wesleyan) ’39, former province governor and NEC member
  • T. Jervis UnderwoodGamma Theta (North Texas) ’54; past national president

The award presentation was a surprise to Crosby. During his final presidential address at the Convention Gala the previous evening, Crosby made reference to his personal friendship with Ed Klint, who had not been able to attend the Convention. During the closing ceremonies on Sunday morning, Klint surprised Crosby by entering from backstage to present Crosby with the unexpected award.

Below, you may use the embedded video players to watch the presentation of the Mills Award to Brother Crosby.

Crosby (right) receives the Mills Award from Ed Klint.
J. Adam Wyatt Photography, LLC

Part 1: Ed Klint's Remarks About Brother Crosby

Part 2: Presentation and Acceptance of the Mills Award