On August 23, 2017, the National Executive Committee ratified President Lichtenberg’s appointments of the members of the National Nominating Committee.  The names of the Nominating Committee members are listed below.

The Committee is responsible for nominating one eligible candidate for each of the following National Offices: National President, National Vice President, Committeeman-at-Large, and National Collegiate Representative. Below you will find information about the National Nominating Committee and its responsibilities, the Powers and Duties of the National Executive Committee, and also the Eligibility Requirements for each of the offices named above.

Brother Mongiovi has established a deadline of November 30, 2017, for the receipt of nominations in order to provide ample time for the National Nominating Committee to consider the nominations thoroughly before the January 1, 2018, deadline established in the National Constitution and Bylaws. The Fraternity will report the nominations, along with biographies of the nominees, by April 1, 2018.

Additional nominees may be put forward by any member of the National Assembly on the day preceding the election of National Officers.

The open call for nominations is your opportunity to add your voice to the nominating process.  The National Nominating Committee seeks the best and most qualified candidates in order to propose the strongest nominees for leadership positions.

Nominating Committee

John MongioviUpsilon Psi Chapter, 1994, Committee Chairman

Eric Pennello, Tau Phi Chapter, 2003, Governor, Province 8

Wes Babcock, Zeta Gamma Chapter. 2001, Governor, Province 36

Ethan Roubenoff, Iota Chapter, 2015, Collegiate Province Representative, Province 37

Ben Hutchison, Gamma Omega Chapter, 2010, National Collegiate Representative

National Constitution & Bylaws (2015 revision)
Title I. Article VI. Section 7.

“Prior to September 1 preceding a National Convention, the National President appoints a National Nominating Committee consisting of the immediate past National President, who serves as chairman, two PGs, one CPR, and the NCR. Members are subject to ratification by the NEC. If the National President has succeeded himself in office, the immediate past National President serves as the committee chairman for a second time. If the immediate past National President is unable or unwilling to serve as chairman, the National President appoints another member of the immediate past NEC to serve as chairman. The chairman votes only in the case of a tie.”

John Mongiovi
Committee Chairman

Acting in his constitutional role as Chairman of the National Nominating Committee, immediate past National President John Mongiovi has issued a call for nominations for National Officers. Any Brother in good standing may put forth a nomination for an individual who meets the eligibility requirements listed below.

“The committee meets no later than January 1 immediately preceding a National Convention and nominates one eligible candidate for each office. The Fraternity reports these nominations, together with professional biographies of all nominees, to the chapters, PGs, CPRs, and NEC no later than April 1 preceding a National Convention. The chairman of the national nominating committee or his designee presents the names of the nominees to the National Assembly on the day preceding the election. At that time, any member of the National Assembly may place in nomination the name of any member of the Fraternity who is eligible for national office.”

National Executive Committee Eligibility Requirements

When nominating an individual for the National Executive Committee, the nominee must meet the requirements set forth in the
National Constitution & Bylaws (2015 Revision) under Title I. Section I. Article III.

Eligibility for National President

The National President is a member in good standing, who:

a) has served at least three years as a member of the NEC; or
b) has served at least seven years as PG; or
c) has been a member in good standing for at least fifteen years.

The National President may succeed himself, but may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

Eligibility for National Vice President

The National Vice President is a member who meets the same eligibility requirements as the National President. The National Vice President may succeed himself, but may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

Eligibility for Committeeman-at-Large

A Committeeman-at-large is a member in good standing who has been a member for at least three years. A Committeeman-at-large may succeed himself.

Eligibility for National Collegiate Representative

The NCR is a member in good standing who has served as an elected officer in his chapter. The NCR is a collegiate member at the time of his election. The NCR may not succeed himself.

Powers and Duties of the NEC

National Constitution & Bylaws (2015 revision)
Title I. Article IV. Section 1.

The NEC oversees the affairs of the national Fraternity. It appoints a National Secretary-Treasurer and Assistant National Secretary-Treasurer and ratifies appointments of the National President. It may appoint other officers as necessary. It may appoint a staff member to supervise the national staff. It may, after 30 days notice and due hearing, remove from office any member of the NEC. It may appoint a substitute to fill an NEC vacancy, however created. It may create and dissolve standing committees and special committees. It adopts an annual budget which includes national staff compensation and may authorize expenditures in excess of the budget. It may inspect financial records of the Fraternity, and it provides a competent auditor to examine the accounts of the National Secretary-Treasurer at least once every three years. It selects a company and amount to insure or bond the individual or individuals who carry out the duties of National Secretary-Treasurer, the expenses of the insurance or bond to be paid from the national treasury. It determines insurance fees and alumni association charter fees. It determines what business appears on the official docket for consideration by the National Assembly or National Council. It is the appellate body and notifies all parties involved in writing of its decision within twenty days of hearing any appeal. It may confer collegiate membership and holds the exclusive power to confer national honorary membership. It determines the benefits of honorary members.